Search

Lithium in Germany and Bolivia


A Changing Substance: The Relation of Humans and Lithium in Germany and Bolivia

The vision of a post-fossil era requires a technological change that affects the present and the future: While humans create the future, the future at the same time forms human life and the actions of the present. Currently, various substances and materials appear as alternative energy sources or energy storage to fossil fuels. Additionally, the human handling of those new substances brings about new global interrelations as well as locally different forms of knowledge, meanings, practices, places, things and identities. Central substances and materials for a „Big Transformation“ are not just "there", but they lead a social life in time and space. They constitute the socio-cultural on different "stations" of their global value chains and by means of those things and commodities for which they are used.

This dimension of social embedding of substances is being examined in the ethnological research project on the basis of the case study lithium, starting from the concept of “Material Histories”, which was developed at the Environmental Science Center (Böschen et al. 2004; Reller et al. 2013) and the theory of the “Social Life of Things” (Appadurai 1986). Thus, it opens up those socio-cultural dimensions of lithium, which would remain locked in a purely substantial-technical observation of lithium.

Lithium – Engine for Change

The light metal lithium captures more and more attention on its way into a post-fossil future, which is reflected in price increases and a steadily growing demand for lithium on the global market. Lithium is a key element for portable energy storage. In the form of lithium ion batteries it is used in small electronic devices, in cameras, mobile phones, laptops and storage battery tools. Above all, it seems to hold a lot of potential for the electrification of mobility, because with lithium the weight of a battery, the basic module for all vehicles, can be reduced to a minimum.

The research project localizes the global lithium-market by comparing Germany and Bolivia. Both countries follow political and economic strategies for the future, in which lithium plays a central role. On the one hand, the effect of lithium in socio-cultural change in Germany and Bolivia is examined. The substance raises different expectations and imaginations of the future, which themselves have an effect on the present. In Germany, lithium opens up options for technological change and post-fossil mobility – images that refer to a future use of the substance. In contrast, in Bolivia, hopes are pinned on the first stage of the substance – mining, industrialization, hopes for modernization, decolonization and “development”.

On the other hand the research project focuses on the materiality of the substance itself, by analyzing its changes in human practices along its value chain: Human-lithium relations are based on the materiality of the substance.
Lithium constitutes – as salt at the origin of the resource, as light metal or immaterial in the form of data in the area of research – different socio-cultural forms, which themselves propagate back on the actors. On a local level the human occupation with lithium in Germany and Bolivia produces different repertoires of action, things, identities, social relations, conflicts, etc.

The Social Life of Lithium

It is the aim of this project to examine existing and emerging human-lithium relations along the value change of the substance – from the raw material and its (intended) mining in Bolivia, to processing and further to research and development of lithium ion batteries in laboratories in Germany. In regards to the relevance of lithium for electromobility, these stages depict the current social life of the substance lithium.

Bibliography

Appadurai, A. (1986): Introduction: Commodities and the Politics of Value. In: The Social Life of Things. Commodities in Cultural Perspective. A. Appadurai. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 3-63.

Böschen, S.; Reller, A.; Soentgen, J. (2004): Stoffgeschichten – eine neue Perspektive für eine transdisziplinäre Umweltforschung. GAIA, 13(1), 19-25.

Reller, A.; Marschall, L.; /Meissner, S; Schmidt, C. (2013): Ressourcenstrategien: Eine Einführung in den nachhaltigen Umgang mit Rohstoffen. Darmstadt: WBG.

Project team:

Dr. Katrin Vogel, katrin.vogel@wzu.uni-augsburg.de

Phone: 0821 598-3490

Duration of project: 07/2013-2016

Suche

Lithium in Deutschland und Bolivien


Ein Stoff im Wandel: Mensch-Lithium-Beziehungen in Deutschland und Bolivien

Vorstellungen von einem postfossilen Zeitalter bedingen einen technologischen Wandel, der auf Gegenwart und Zukunft einwirkt: Indem Menschen Zukunft machen, formt die Zukunft das menschliche Leben und Handeln in der Gegenwart. Zur Zeit treten zahlreiche Stoffe und Materialien als zu fossilen Brennstoffen alternative Energieträger oder -speicher in Erscheinung und der menschliche Umgang mit ihnen bringt neue globale Verflechtungen sowie lokal unterschiedliche Arten des Wissens, Bedeutungen, Praktiken, Orte, soziale Beziehungen, Dinge und Identitäten hervor. Zentrale Stoffe und Materialien für eine Große Transformation sind also nicht einfach da, sondern führen ein "soziales Leben" in Zeit und Raum. Sie konstituieren das Sozio-Kulturelle auf den unterschiedlichen Stationen ihrer globalen Wertschöpfungsketten und mittels jener Dinge und Waren, für die sie verwendet werden.

Diese Dimensionen der sozialen Einbettung von Stoffen leuchtet das ethnologische Forschungsprojekt am Fallbeispiel Lithium aus, indem es von dem am WZU entwickelten Konzept der "Stoffgeschichten" (Böschen et al. 2004; Reller et al. 2013) und der Theorie des "Social Life of Things" (Appadurai 1986) ausgeht. Es eröffnet damit jene sozio-kulturellen Dimensionen von Lithium, die rein stofflich-technischen Betrachtungen verschlossen bleiben.

 

Lithium – Motor für Wandel

Das Leichtmetall Lithium erfährt auf dem Weg in eine postfossile Zukunft zunehmende Aufmerksamkeit, die sich in Preiserhöhungen und in einer stetig wachsenden Nachfrage nach Lithium auf dem globalen Markt widerspiegelt. Lithium ist ein Schlüsselelement für tragbare Energiespeicher. In Form von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien wird es in Elektrokleingeräten, in Kameras, Mobiltelefonen, Laptops und Akku-Werkzeugen verbaut. Vor allem aber gilt es als voraussetzungsvoll für die Elektrifizierung der Mobilität, da sich mit Lithium das Gewicht der Batterie, die den Grundbaustein aller Fahrzeuge der Elektromobilität darstellt, auf ein Minimum reduzieren lässt.

Das Forschungsprojekt lokalisiert den globalen Lithium-Markt exemplarisch in Deutschland und Bolivien. Beide Länder verfolgen politische und wirtschaftliche Zukunfts-Strategien, für die Lithium eine zentrale Rolle spielt. Untersucht wird zum einen die Wirkkraft von Lithium im sozio-kulturellen Wandel in Deutschland und Bolivien. Der Stoff weckt in beiden Ländern unterschiedliche Erwartungen und Vorstellungen von Zukunft, die ihrerseits in der Gegenwart wirken. So eröffnet Lithium in Deutschland Optionen auf technologischen Wandel und postfossile Mobilität – Bilder, die sich auf die zukünftige Verwendung des Stoffes beziehen. In Bolivien werden dagegen an den ersten Lebensabschnitt des Stoffes, d.h. an Abbau und -Industrialisierung, Hoffnungen auf Modernisierung, Entkolonialisierung und "Entwicklung" geknüpft.

Zum anderen nimmt das Forschungsprojekt die Materialität des Stoffs selbst in den Blick, indem es seinen Wandel durch menschliche Praktiken entlang der Wertschöpfungskette begleitet: Mensch-Lithium-Beziehungen sind durch die Materialität des Stoffs bedingt. Lithium konstituiert – als Salz am Ort des Ressourcen-Vorkommens, als Leichtmetall oder immateriell in Form von Daten im Bereich der Forschung – unterschiedliche sozio-kulturelle Formen, die ihrerseits auf die Handelnden zurückwirken. Auf der lokalen Ebene bringt die menschliche Beschäftigung mit Lithium in Deutschland und Bolivien demnach unterschiedliche Handlungsrepertoires, Orte, Dinge, Identitäten, soziale Beziehungen, Konflikte, etc. hervor.

 

Das soziale Leben von Lithium

Ziel ist es, existierende und entstehende Mensch-Lithium-Beziehungen entlang der Wertschöpfungskette des Materials – vom Rohstoff und seinem (intendierten) Abbau in Bolivien, über die Aufbereitung bis zur Forschung und Entwicklung von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien in Forschungslaboratorien in Deutschland - zu untersuchen. Hinsichtlich der Bedeutung von Lithium für die Elektromobilität bilden diese Stationen das gegenwärtige soziale Leben des Stoffs ab.

 

Literatur

Appadurai, A. (1986): Introduction: Commodities and the Politics of Value. In: The Social Life of Things. Commodities in Cultural Perspective. A. Appadurai. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 3-63.

Böschen, S.; Reller, A.; Soentgen, J. (2004): Stoffgeschichten – eine neue Perspektive für eine transdisziplinäre Umweltforschung. GAIA, 13(1), 19-25.

Reller, A.; Marschall, L.; /Meissner, S; Schmidt, C. (2013): Ressourcenstrategien: Eine Einführung in den nachhaltigen Umgang mit Rohstoffen. Darmstadt: WBG.

 

Projektteam:

Dr. Katrin Vogel, katrin.vogel@wzu.uni-augsburg.de

Tel.: 0821 598-3490

 

Projektdauer: 07/2013-2016